Photo Albums, Publications, and Reports

The WorldCon is an eclectic mix of annual meeting, exhibition, awards ceremony, opportunity for making publishing deals and "old home week" for Science Fiction fans and professionals. The WorldCon is an opportunity to share ideas, experience, and the love of the fantastic.

WorldCons have grown impressively since their humble beginnings in New York City in 1939. The first WorldCon had about 200 attendees, mostly from the East Coast. Since then, WorldCons have attracted up to 8,400 members; about half of the WorldCon attendees are female; and WorldCon sites have included Australia, England,the Netherlands, Helsinki and Scotland. WorldCons are one of the few large conferences run exclusively by volunteers.

In the collection of photographs that follows there are many faces that are not known to its current custodians. If you recognize individuals that have not been identified in that photo's caption, or you know any other iformation about the photo that has not been included, please use the form that has been provided to update the photo's caption of credits. Thank you.

[Photos] indicates a Worldcon Photo Album.

[Reports] indicates Worldcon Publications or Reports.

[Audio] indicates Worldcon Audio Files.

These materials have been made available for your personal use, and may be copyrighted by their authors or publishers.

Year Title [Unchanged] [Unchanged]    Year Title [Unchanged] [Unchanged]    Year Title [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1939NYcon 1 [Unchanged] [New]
1972LA Con I [Revised] [New]
2001Millennium Philcon® [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1940Chicon I
1973Torcon 2 [Unchanged]

2002ConJosé [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1941Denvention I
1974Discon II [Unchanged] [New]
2003Torcon 3 [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1946Pacificon I [Unchanged] [Revised]
1975AussieCon [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2004Noreascon Four [Unchanged] [New]
1947Philcon I
1976MidAmeriCon [Revised] [Unchanged]
2005Interaction [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1948Torcon I

1977SunCon [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2006LA Con IV [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1949Cinvention [Unchanged] [Revised]
1978IguanaCon II [Revised] [New]
2007Nippon 2007 [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1950NorWesCon [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1979Seacon '79 [Unchanged]

2008Denvention 3 [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1951Nolacon I [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1980Noreascon Two [Unchanged] [New]
2009Anticipation [Revised] [Unchanged]
1952TASFIC Chicon II [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1981Denvention Two [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2010AussieCon 4 [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1953Philcon II [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1982Chicon IV [Unchanged]

2011Renovation [Unchanged] [New]
1954SFCon [Unchanged] [Revised]
1983ConStellation [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2012Chicon 7 [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1955Clevention [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1984LA Con II [Revised] [Unchanged]
2013LoneStarCon 3 [New] [Unchanged]
1956NYcon II [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1985AussieCon Two [Unchanged]

2014Loncon 3 [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1957Loncon I [Unchanged] [Revised]
1986ConFederation [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2015Sasquan [New]

1958Solacon [Unchanged] [New]
1987Conspiracy [Revised] [Unchanged]
2016MidAmeriCon II [Unchanged]

1959Detention [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1988Nolacon II [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2017Worldcon 75 (Helsinki) [Unchanged]

1960Pittcon [Revised] [New]
1989Noreascon 3 [Revised] [Revised]
2018Worldcon 76 (San José) [Revised]

1961Seacon [Revised] [New]
1990ConFiction [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2019Dublin [Unchanged]

1962Chicon III [Unchanged] [Revised]
1991Chicon V [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2020New Zealand

1963Discon I [Unchanged] [New]
1992MagiCon [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
[Star]Bids for Future WorldCons
1964Pacificon II [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1993ConFrancisco [Unchanged]

2021Washington, DC

1965Loncon II [New] [Unchanged]
1994ConAdian [Unchanged] [Unchanged]

1966Tricon [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1995Intersection [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2023Chendgu, China

1967NYcon III [Unchanged]

1996LA Con III [Unchanged] [Unchanged]

New Orleans

1968Baycon [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1997LoneStarCon 2 [Unchanged] [Unchanged]

Nice, France

1969St. Louiscon [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
1998BucCONeer [Revised] [Unchanged]
2024United Kingdom

1970Heicon 70 [New] [Unchanged]
1999AussieCon Three [Unchanged] [Unchanged]
2025Perth, Australia

1971Noreascon I [Revised] [Unchanged]
2000Chicon 2000 [Unchanged] [Unchanged]


Updated May 10, 2019. Please send any comments regarding this Web page to the Fanac Webmaster. Thank you.

Copyright © 1997-2019 by F.A.N.A.C. Inc.

Valid HTML 4.0!