The Retro Hugo Awards

Fan Hugo Materials for Work Published in 1944

  1. Forrest J Ackerman
  2. Andy Anderson
  3. Abby Lu Ashley
  4. Al Ashley
  5. Helen Bradleigh
  6. Lynn Bridges
  7. Phil Bronson
  8. Mel Brown
  9. Charles Burbee
  10. Ted Carnell
  11. L. R. Chauvenet
  12. Ed Conner
  13. Leslie A. Croutch
  14. Lora Crozetti
  15. Walt Daugerty
  16. Walter Daugherty
  17. Chan Davis
  18. Gerry de la Ree
  19. Claude Degler
  20. Walt Dunkelberger
  21. George Ebey
  22. E. Everett Evans
  23. Mike Fern
  24. Joe Fortier
  25. Austin Hamel
  26. Arthur Joquel
  27. Earl Kay
  28. James Kepner
  29. Walt Kessel
  30. H. C. Koenig
  31. Gertrude Kuslan
  32. Louis Kuslan
  33. Francis T. Laney
  34. Walt Liebscher
  35. Walt Liebsher
  36. Robert W. Lowndes
  37. Morojo
  38. Elmer Purdue
  39. Frank Robinson
  40. Don Rogers
  41. J. Michael Rosenblum
  42. John Michael Rosenblum
  43. Milton A. Rothman
  44. Samuel D. Russell
  45. A. Langley Searles
  46. Larry Shaw
  47. D. R. Smith
  48. Jack Speer
  49. Paul Spencer
  50. Norman Francis Stanley
  51. William Sykora
  52. Beak Taylor
  53. Donald B. Thompson
  54. Bob Tucker
  55. Dennis Tucker
  56. Julius Unger
  57. various
  58. Harry Warner Jr
  59. Fred Warth
  60. Raymond Washington
  61. Bill Watson
  62. Al Weinstein
  63. Mari Beth Wheeler
  64. Russ Whitman
  65. Art Widner
  66. Frank Wilimczyk
  67. Russell Wilsey
  68. Donald A. Wollheim
  69. Donald Wollheim
  70. Elsie Wollheim
  71. T. Bruce Yerke

The Science Fiction Achievement Awards, better known as the Hugo Awards, were started in 1953 at the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) in Philadelphia. You can read about the start of the awards in the Philcon Program Book which is available on-line. Click on Achievement Awards. After being skipped in 1954, the Hugo Awards became an annual tradition selecting the best material of the previous year in the SF field. The awards are voted on by the members of the Worldcon.

In 1994, at the instigation of Bruce Pelz, a motion was passed to create the Retro-Hugo Awards. The Retro-Hugo was an option that a Worldcon could select to implement to retroactively make awards for years when the Worldcon had taken place but for which no Hugo Awards had been given. Awards are allowed only for specific years: 50, 75, or 100 years before the current Worldcon.

The Introduction to the Retro Hugos, edited by Andrew I. Porter with the assistance of Joe Siclari and Edie Stern, is a comprehensive introduction to, and history of, the Retro Hugos. Please note that this a PDF file that requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader for viewing. If you don't already have the Reader you can download a free copy from Adobe by clicking on the following icon:

[Get Adobe Reader]

As is normal for the Hugo Awards, the Retro-Hugo Awards are selected from the best of the previous year for which they would have been awarded. Therefore, the Retro Hugos for Worldcon 76 in San Jose, CA, USA will be awarded for work done in 1942, and the Retro Hugos for Dublin 2019 in Dublin, Ireland will be awarded for work done in 1943.

The Fan History Project is pleased to assist voters for the Retro Hugo Awards by placing as many issues of the relevant 1943 fanzines online as we can for you to read and enjoy. We hope that this will allow you to make a better qualified judgment of the fan categories for the awards.

-- Joe Siclari, Coordinator
    Fanac Fan History Project
-- Edie Stern, Webmaster
    Fanac Fan History Project

Updated February 26, 2020. If you have a comment or question about these Web pages please send a note to the Fanac Webmaster. Thank you.

Copyright © 2020 by F.A.N.A.C. Inc.