2008 Hugo Nomination List

2008 Hugo Award Winners

There were 483 valid nominating ballots.

Best Novel (382 ballots cast)

The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins; Fourth Estate)

Brasyl by Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)

Rollback by Robert J. Sawyer (Tor; Analog Oct. 2006-Jan./Feb. 2007)

The Last Colony by John Scalzi (Tor)

Halting State by Charles Stross (Ace)

Best Novella (220 ballots cast)

"The Fountain of Age" by Nancy Kress (Asimov's July 2007)

"Recovering Apollo 8" by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov's Feb. 2007)

"Stars Seen Through Stone" by Lucius Shepard (FandSF July 2007)

"All Seated on the Ground" by Connie Willis (Asimov's Dec. 2007; Subterranean Press)

"Memorare" by Gene Wolfe (FandSF April 2007)

Best Novelette (243 ballots cast)

"The Cambist and Lord Iron: A Fairy Tale of Economics" by Daniel Abraham (Logorrhea, ed. John Klima, BantamSpectra)

"The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate" by Ted Chiang (Subterranean Press; FandSF Sept. 2007)

"Dark Integers" by Greg Egan (Asimov's Oct./Nov. 2007)

"Glory" by Greg Egan (The New Space Opera, ed. Gardner Dozois and Jonathan Strahan, HarperCollins/Eos)

"Finisterra" by David Moles (FandSF Dec. 2007)

Best Short Story (270 ballots cast)

"Last Contact" by Stephen Baxter (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, ed. George Mann, Solaris Books)

"Tideline" by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's June 2007)

"Who's Afraid of Wolf 359?" by Ken MacLeod (The New Space Opera, ed. Gardner Dozois and Jonathan Strahan, HarperCollins/Eos)

"Distant Replay" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's April/May 2007)

"A Small Room in Koboldtown" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's April/May 2007; The Dog Said Bow-Wow, Tachyon Publications)

Best Related Book (173 ballots cast)

The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community by Diana Glyer; appendix by David Bratman (Kent State University Press)

Breakfast in the Ruins: Science Fiction in the Last Millennium by Barry Malzberg (Baen)

Emshwiller: Infinity x Two by Luis Ortiz, introduction by Carol Emshwiller, forward by Alex Eisenstein (Nonstop)

Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher (Oxford University Press)

The Arrival by Shaun Tan (Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (270 ballots cast)

Enchanted Written by Bill Kelly Directed by Kevin Lima (Walt Disney Pictures)

The Golden Compass Written by Chris Weitz Based on the novel by Philip Pullman, Directed by Chris Weitz (New Line Cinema)

Heroes, Season 1 Created by Tim Kring (NBC Universal Television and Tailwind Productions)
Written by Tim Kring, Jeph Loeb, Bryan Fuller, Michael Green, Natalie Chaidez, Jesse Alexander, Adam Armus, Aron Eli Coleite, Joe Pokaski, Christopher Zatta, Chuck Kim.
Directed by David Semel, Allan Arkush, Greg Beeman, Ernest R. Dickerson, Paul Shapiro, Donna Deitch, Paul A. Edwards, John Badham, Terrence O'Hara, Jeannot Szwarc, Roxann Dawson, Kevin Bray, Adam Kane

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Written by Michael Goldenberg, Based on the novel by J.K. Rowling, Directed by David Yates (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Stardust Written by Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn, Based on the novel by Neil Gaiman Illustrated by Charles Vess Directed by Matthew Vaughn (Paramount Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (259 ballots cast)

Battlestar Galactica "Razor" Written by Michael Taylor Directed by Félix Enríquez Alcalá and Wayne Rose (Sci Fi Channel) (televised version, not DVD)

Doctor Who "Blink" Written by Steven Moffat Directed by Hettie Macdonald (BBC)

Doctor Who "Human Nature" / "The Family of Blood" Written by Paul Cornell Directed by Charles Palmer (BBC)

Star Trek New Voyages "World Enough and Time" Written by Michael Reaves and Marc Scott Zicree Directed by Marc Scott Zicree (Cawley Entertainment Co. and The Magic Time Co.)

Torchwood "Captain Jack Harkness" Written by Catherine Tregenna Directed by Ashley Way (BBC Wales)

Best Professional Editor, Long Form (187 ballots cast)

Lou Anders (Pyr)

Ginjer Buchanan (Ace/Roc)

David G. Hartwell (Tor/Forge)

Beth Meacham (Tor)

Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor)

Best Professional Editor, Short Form (257 ballots cast)

Ellen Datlow (The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror (St. Martin's), Coyote Road (Viking), Inferno (Tor))

Stanley Schmidt (Analog)

Jonathan Strahan (The New Space Opera (HarperCollins/Eos), The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume 1 (Night Shade), Eclipse One (Night Shade))

Gordon Van Gelder (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)

Sheila Williams (Asimov's Science Fiction)

Best Professional Artist (205 ballots cast)

Bob Eggleton (Covers: To Outlive Eternity and Other Stories (Baen), Ivory (Pyr), and The Taint and Other Novellas (Subterranean))

Phil Foglio (Cover: Robert Asprin's Myth Adventures, Vol. 2 (Meisha Merlin), What's New (Dragon Magazine Aug. 2007, Girl Genius Vol. 6-Agatha Heterodyne and the Golden Trilobite (Airship Entertainment))

John Harris (Covers: Spindrift (Ace), Old Man's War (Tor, pb), The Last Colony (Tor))

Stephan Martiniere (Covers: Brasyl (Pyr), Mainspring (Tor), The Dragons of Babel (Tor))

John Picacio (Covers: Fast Forward 1 (Pyr), Time's Child (HarperCollins/Eos), A Thousand Deaths (Golden Gryphon))

Shaun Tan (The Arrival (Arthur A Levine Books))

Best Semiprozine (174 ballots cast)

Ansible, edited by David Langford

Helix, edited by William Sanders and Lawrence Watt-Evans

Interzone, edited by Andy Cox

Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, and Liza Groen Trombi

The New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by Kathryn Cramer, Kristine Dikeman, David Hartwell, and Kevin J. Maroney

Best Fanzine (157 ballots cast)

Argentus, edited by Steven H Silver

Challenger, edited by Guy Lillian III

Drink Tank, edited by Chris Garcia

File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

PLOKTA, edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott

Best Fan Writer (195 ballots cast)

Chris Garcia

David Langford

Cheryl Morgan

John Scalzi

Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist (139 ballots cast)

Brad Foster

Teddy Harvia

Sue Mason

Steve Stiles

Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Science Fiction Writer (178 ballots cast)

An award for the best new writer whose first work of science fiction or fantasy appeared during 2006 or 2007 in a professional publication. Sponsored by Dell Magazines.

Joe Abercrombie (2nd year of eligibility)

Jon Armstrong (1st year of eligibility)

David Anthony Durham (1st year of eligibility)

David Louis Edelman (2nd year of eligibility)

Mary Robinette Kowal (2nd year of eligibility)

Scott Lynch (2nd year of eligibility)