2008 Hugo Award Winners List

The 2008 Hugo Awards were given out at Denvention on Saturday, August 9, 2008. The Master of Ceremony was Wil McCarthy. 2008 Hugo Award Nominees * * Detailed nominations/final vote breakdown * * Ceremony Information, PowerPoint and Slide Show Photos

2008 Hugo
Base design by Lee Kuruganti

Novel: The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins; Fourth Estate)

Novella: "All Seated on the Ground" by Connie Willis (Asimov's Dec. 2007; Subterranean Press)

Novelette:"The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate" by Ted Chiang (Subterranean Press; F&SF Sept. 2007)

Short Story: "Tideline" by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's June 2007)

Non-fiction Book: Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher (Oxford University Press)

Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Stardust Written by Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn, Directed by Matthew Vaughn, Based on the novel by Neil Gaiman Illustrated by Charles Vess (Paramount Pictures)

Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who "Blink" Written by Steven Moffat Directed by Hettie Macdonald (BBC)

Professional Editor, Long Form: David Hartwell

Professional Editor, Short Form: Gordon Van Gelder (F&SF)

Professional Artist: Stephan Martiniere

Semiprozine: Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi

Fanzine: File 770

Fan Writer: John Scalzi

Fan Artist: Brad Foster

Campbell Award: Mary Robinette Kowal