FanHistory Project Zoom Sessions

Next FanHistory Zoom Session

Juanita Coulson on fandom, filkdom, fanzines, Star Trek and sundry aspects of her life in fandom - a guided discussion with Joe Siclari

Date: September 25, 2021
Time: 2PM EDT, 11AM PDT, 1PM CDT, 7PM London, 4AM Sydney

Juanita Coulson has been a marathon fanzine editor, a mainstay of the filk community, and a professional writer. She’s a little bit larger than life, and among other honors, has been a DUFF winner (2014), a Hugo winner (1965), Worldcon Fan GoH (1972), NASFiC GoH (2010), Filk Hall of Fame inductee (1998) and a Big Heart Award winner (2012).

Juanita has been widely known in filk music circles since the 1950s for both her singing and her songwriting, and was instrumental in establishing filk as a part of SF conventions. For thirty-three years, she co-edited the fanzine Yandro with her husband Buck, publishing a massive 259 issues. Yandro was nominated for a Hugo Award every year for ten years in a row, from 1958–1967. It won the award in 1965, thus making Juanita Coulson one of the very first women editors to be so honored. Juanita’s first novel, Crisis on Cheiron, came out in 1967. In this zoom history discussion, expect stories of 60+ years of fandom, how Juanita beat the steam boat whistle at NaSFic, mimeography, her Star Trek fanzines, and maybe even a song or two.

To RSVP, or find out more about the series, please send an note to fanac@fanac.org.

Tentative Schedule for Future sessions

Past Sessions


Updated May 28, 2021. If you have a comment or question about these Web pages please send a note to the Fanac Webmaster. Thank you.

Copyright © 2021 by F.A.N.A.C. Inc.